OMAHA, NE – December 22, 2015 –Over 250 Republican voters, volunteers, elected officials, candidates, and celebrities attended the Douglas County Republican Party (DCRP) GOP Debate Watch Party on December 15, 2015, at Buffalo Wings and Rings, 12240 “L” Street in Omaha. The DCRP would like to extend a special thank you to Todd & Sue Misselt and all the staff at Buffalo Wings and Rings for their hospitality, fine food, and outstanding service.


The GOP Debate Watch event was sponsored by Omaha City Council members, Aimee Melton, Rich Pahls, & Franklin Thompson. Scott Voorhees from KFAB Radio served as Host and Master of Ceremonies for the event.

Some of those in attendance at the Debate Watch Party included:

  • Mayor Jean Stothert and Joe Stothert
  • Aimee Melton, Omaha City Council
  • Rich Pahls, Omaha City Council
  • Franklin Thompson,  Omaha City Council
  • Jim Smith,  Nebraska State Senator
  • Robert Hilkemann, Nebraska State Senator
  • John Witzel, Member, Nebraska State Board of Education
  • Patrick Bonnett,  Member, Papio Natural Resource District Board of Directors
  • Blaine McCulloh,  Board Member, Learning Community
  • John Sieler, former Vice President, Nebraska State Board of Education
  • Marty Bilek,  Chief of Staff, Mayor Jean Stothert
  • Pat Borchers,  Candidate, Nebraska Legislature
  • Don Bacon,  Candidate, US Congress
  • Chip Maxwell, Candidate, US Congress
  • Jon Tucker, Chairman, Douglas County Republican Party
  • Nancy McCabe, Chair,  NEGOP Second Congressional District
  • Ed Truemper, Vice Chair,  NEGOP Second Congressional District
  • Scott Petersen, former Chair, Douglas County Republican Party
  • Mary Jane Truemper, Chair, Omaha Chapter, Liberty Ladies
  • Chris Baker, KFAB Radio talk show host
  • Scott Voorhees, KFAB Radio talk show host
  • Brian Wanamaker, KFAB Radio

A straw poll was taken by those in attendance. The poll asked the attendees which of the presidential candidates they felt won the debate. The results of the straw poll are as follows:

# 1.  Ted Cruz

# 2.  Donald Trump

# 3.  Rand Paul

# 4.  Marco Rubio

# 5.  Ben Carson

# 6. (tie)  Carly Fiorina  and  Jeb Bush

The next GOP Debate Watch Party will be held on January 14, 2016.   Details to be announced soon.

Jon Tucker


Oracle DBA, Past DCRP Chairman, RLCNE Vice Chairman, Father/Husband, Broncos/Huskers